Charter Standard

The FA Charter Standard Scheme is the best practice guide that sets standards of coaching, administration and safeguarding children for all clubs outside the Football League and Premier League. As a benchmark for quality the award will improve the playing experience for all.

The FA Charter Standard Club Programme now has three levels:

FA Charter Standard Club (Youth & Adult)
FA Charter Standard Development Club
FA Charter Standard Community Club

Listed below are the different criteria for the different Club Awards.

Charter Standard Club

The FA Charter Standard Club Award is for clubs with youth teams under the age of 18. The award is designed to reward best practice, aid delivery across the club volunteer spectrum and educate coaches and club officials to the minimum FA criteria. To achieve Charter Standard Club Status the club needs to have the following in place:

- Club Constitution/Rules
- Copy of Annual Accounts
- Code of Conduct for players, coaches, parents and officials
- Equality Policy
- Safeguarding Children Policy (Youth only)                                          
- Public Liability & Personal Accident Insurance
- Coaches to hold The FA / 1st 4sport Level 1 Certificate In Coaching Football Qualification (Youth only) 
- Minutes from committee meeting's, AGM's and EGM's
- School-Club link established
- First Aid Equipment - club to ensure first aid equipment is available at all coaching sessions & matches
- Regular Briefings - club to hold a briefing for players, parents / carers & officials at the start of each season
- Signed up to the RESPECT Programme
- Designated Volunteer Co-ordinator

Charter Standard Development Club

Development Status displays a club's determination and commitment to developing their club further and caters for the growing demands on its members to the minimum FA criteria: To achieve this level, club's must have attained The FA Charter Standard Club criteria plus the criteria listed below:
- At least five teams playing across four age groups 
- A 3-5 year football development plan 
- One club coach to hold The FA / 1st 4sport Level 2 Certificate In Coaching Football Qualification  
- One coach to have achieved The FA Youth Award - Module 1

Charter Standard Community Club

This is the pinnacle award for Charter Standard Clubs. The main focus of the Community Club Award is to become the centre of football within the local community. Achieving this award will require the full support, guidance and advice on hand from the Football Development Team. To achieve this prestigious award the club needs to have obtained the following criteria as well as The FA Charter Standard Club and Development Club criteria:

- At least ten teams ranging from youth through to adult including a minimum of one female team
- Mini Soccer Provision
- Boys and girls teams
- 5 year football development plan 
- One person to have attended The FA Mentoring Course
- One coach to have achieved The FA Youth Award Module 2
- A designated school co-ordinator

Example policy documents and application forms can be found below.

If you would like more information please contact Joe Mathias on 01432 342179 or