Herefordshire FA are accepting nominations for grassroots heroes

Nominate your grassroots heroes!

The FA and McDonalds Grassroots Football Awards are Back for 2020

Without people involved in grassroots football it simply wouldn’t exist. From supporters, referees, coaches or volunteers, the winners will be those whose actions and behaviour make The FA’s PRIDE values part of the game for their clubs, leagues and communities. Football is a game For All.


Nominations are now open for The FA and McDonald’s Grassroots Football Awards 2020 across 10 different categories. The local football community have up until Monday 18th May to get their nominations in and give their grassroots heroes the recognition they deserve.


The awards are for people who make a positive difference. It’s our way to celebrate the fantastic individuals, clubs and leagues who put their heart and soul into the grassroots game across England – and say a huge thank you to the incredible volunteers who inspire us all.


How to make nominations

Individuals are nominated by someone else (not themselves), while anyone involved in a club or league can nominate their own club and/or league.

Nominations are now open. Please follow the link below to vote for this year's categories: 

Click here to nominate now!


Scott Russell (HFA Disability and Inclusion Officer) added “We say it every year but it’s true, grassroots football is nothing without volunteers. In what has been a challenging season especially, you understand how important volunteers are to the community.


It would be great to give recognition to those who go beyond what is expected or asked of them, they are the heartbeat of their clubs or leagues. That’s why it’s important to nominate those who make a difference and join us to celebrate everything that is grassroots football in Herefordshire."


How the awards work

These awards are to recognise and reward the people, clubs and leagues that deliver grassroots football throughout the country. The awards are split into categories, and County FAs select a local winner for each from the public’s nominations. These form a shortlist for our national winners, selected by a national judging panel. The awards are split into 10 categories:

  • Grassroots Volunteer of the Year
  • Grassroots Coach of the Year (Adult Team)
  • Grassroots Coach of the Year (Youth Team)
  • Grounds Team of the Year
  • Grassroots Match Official of the Year
  • Rising Star of the Year
  • We Only Do Positive Respect
  • Grassroots Project of the Year
  • Grassroots Club of the Year
  • Grassroots League of the Year
  • The Bobby Moore Award

The categories for this year’s awards are chosen to reflect the fiversity of our football communities and the positive impact of football. Will Perkins (Wellington FC) who won Grassroots Project of the Year in 2019 commented


“It’s great recognition for what the club has managed to achieve since January [2019] with the intention to bring youth football back to the club. Never in our wildest dreams did we think we would end up with 5 new teams.”

If you know a club, league or individual who deserves the same, nominate them below.

 Click here to nominate now!

Key dates

- 18 May: Nominations close

- 26 May: County FAs announce local winners

- 9 June: National Panel – national winners selected

- 2 August: National winners’ ceremony at The FA Community Shield, Wembley

Related News

View All