HFA Walking Football League Champions Leominster

Leominster Lift First Walking Football Crown

With walking football becoming increasingly popular, teams from Herefordshire have been competing in a brand new league this season

The first season of the new Herefordshire FA Walking Football League drew to a close on Thursday night at Hereford Sixth Form College. Once all the games had been finished, it was the team from Leominster who went home with the privilege of being crowned inaugural League winners.

Across the season, all the games were closely fought with every team putting in some strong performances throughout. In the end, Leominster remained unbeaten over the course of the season and as a result narrowly pipped the Scrumpy Boys to the league title by a single point. On the final evening of the season, ex-Hereford player and manager Colin Addison was in attendance to watch the action and present the trophy. Having recently seen Tommy Charlton (brother of Bobby and Jack Charlton) play in an England v Italy international on the news, Colin was full of praise for the initiative and the premise behind walking football.

The 6aside league for over 50’s has been played on 3G pitches at Hereford Academy and the Sixth Form on weekday evenings. Having originally started towards the back end of 2017, the teams have met up every couple of months to play league fixtures at a central venue on the same night. Players are unable to run and physical contact is kept to an absolute minimum during matches.

The league has been a big success and Herefordshire FA are looking to expand the league in future with another season on the horizon. We would like to thank all the teams for their participation as well as Ian Davies for officiating and Colin Addison for presenting the trophy.

Leominster Walking Football team HFA League Champions

Leominster: full squad from Nick Hill, Pete Lewington, Adrian Marshall, Dave Morgan, Pete Morgan,  John O’Connell (c), Nick Pickford, Rich Pollard, Roger Rhodes-Bangham, Rich Shakespeare, Ian Smith, Simon Winfield

Scrumpy Boys Walking Football Team

Scrumpy Boys: full squad from Martin Brooks, Mark Catlin (c), John Filby, Paul Gough, Ian Grieves, Mark Gwynne, Chris Hills, Andy Jones,   Kyri Kyriakou, Stuart Morgan, Paul Southall, Steve Tippins, Stuart Whitehurst, Vince Woods

Ross Jrs Walking Football Team

Ross Juniors: full squad from Eric Casstles, Michael Collins, Alan Essex, David Fish, Ron Goulding, Tim Hunt, Brian King, Nick Morgan, David Rooke, John Setchfield, David Spray (c), Brian Tingle, Greg Weston


Hereford Bulls: full squad from Cyrus Amini (c), Chris Carter, Chris Davies, Stan Fraser, Tony Herbert, Eddie Hunt, Garry McCaughey, Paul Merriman, Phil Rees, Perry Walker

League Table

There are now 5 walking football clubs across Herefordshire and the number of regular players each week is continuing to grow. If you are interested in walking football and want help finding your nearest club or session please contact info@HerefordshireFA.com

Related News

View All